Listasavn Føroya -The Faroe Islands Art Museum in Tòrshavn

Day 3 of my journey around The Faroe Islands with The Clipperton Project.

Today was a Sunday. Sunday in Tòrshavn means that basically everything was closed, including all the buses! So, we had a rather lazy start to the day… a wee lie in, and milling around internet researching, and munching on cookies!!

Around lunchtime we headed out to the Listasavn Føroya (after a quick detour from the Nordic House, which was shut… fret not! I got to it later!!) which is the national art gallery in the Faroe’s, and one of the only things open!!!

Fine arts started relatively late within Faroese culture, with crafts and handmade items being favoured to occupy the makers’ hands. Painting, drawing, sculpture, etc. were overlooked until around 1800, but most art from earlier on, hasn’t always survived. The Faroese Art Society, who run this museum, now endeavour to preserve and promote all the fine arts that the Faroe Islands have to offer!

I wasn’t allowed to take my camera in, but I sneaked a few photos on my iPod… shh!!!

Faroes (19)Faroes (20)Faroes (21)

This room/installation was amazing, and my photos don’t really do it justice! The floor and ceiling was mirrored, and the walls were lined with colourful blue toned stained glass. The mirrors gave the feeling of stepping into infinity, a reoccurring figure amongst the waves. It was beautiful.

Faroes (22)Faroes (24)Faroes (26)Faroes (27)Faroes (28)Faroes (807)

I’m going to do another post about these birds in suits as I loved Edward Fuglø’s work, and naturally had to buy these postcards for my art wall!

Faroes (805)

Outside the gallery were bronze sculptures (by Hans Pauli Olsen who I’ll blog about later when we get to the selkie statue!), and it was surrounded by a stunning wooded parkland, which I wandered around getting lost with the trolls and hidden people…

IMG_2005IMG_2006IMG_2007IMG_2008

I think this one is my favourite. It speaks to me of an elemental soul escaping, or perhaps being grounded. It’s beautiful, and the texture is stunning.

IMG_2009IMG_2010IMG_2011 bwIMG_2012IMG_2013IMG_2033IMG_2032IMG_2031IMG_2030Faroes (39)Faroes (38)IMG_2024IMG_2025IMG_2014IMG_2016IMG_2021Faroes (31)IMG_2004Faroes (51)

Troll?

IMG_2027IMG_2028IMG_2035IMG_2037IMG_2038IMG_2040IMG_2042IMG_2043

I was feeling a little inspired! and doodled a few things in my sketchbook, which I’ll share in some later posts with lots of hand-journalled images!!
I enjoyed wandering around this woodland. It was incredibly peaceful… Relaxing… inspiring… peaceful.
Stay tuned for more…!
Chloe out.

One thought on “Listasavn Føroya -The Faroe Islands Art Museum in Tòrshavn

Leave a Reply

