Memento Mori (An Ode to Dead Dye Jobs)

Memento Mori
noun
 1. an object kept as a reminder of the inevitability of death.
2. Latin, literally ‘remember (that you have) to die’.

An Ode To Dead Dye Jobs
I collect my dead hair.
A strange habit I know.
A bit of a gross habit? yeah, I can see why you’d think that.
I’m not sure why I do it. It just feels like I could use it one day, so I save it.
When my hair brush is full, I pull off the tangled locks, and place them in a jar.
Okay… now you think I’m crazy right?
I don’t blame you.
One of the nice things about it, is I get to see colour gradients forming. I dye my hair, mostly, every month, and I never pick the same colour, so layers of colours form.

I’ve made a miniature sculpture to celebrate my oddness, and to “light a candle” for my now passed dye jobs…..

 

Saw-pierce out a copper oval.Working (1)

Sand and file the edges of the copper oval until smooth, and sand the surface with varying grades of sandpaper, until scratch-free.Working (2)

Clean the surface of the metal in preparation for drawing on.Working (3)

Draw! I’ve never used markers before, so this was a bit of an experiment.Working (5)

After sealing the back of the oval, place in etching baths, for roughly 3hours.Working (6)

After cleaning away the marker and etching grounds, drill holes all around the oval’s edge.Working (7)

After polishing the metal, seal with wax to prevent the copper from oxidising too quickly.Working (8)

Take a sheet of white silk organza, and alter the shape using heat.Working (9)Working (10)Working (11)

Find a ball of colourful hair!Working (12)

Stitch organza into the holes around the copper.Working (13)

Fill with hair, and continue to stitch until the end.Working (14)

Cut the organza into an oval.Working (15)Working (16)

Stitch beads all around the edges of the oval.Working (17)

 

Ta-dah!…..

Memento Mori (1)Memento Mori (2)Memento Mori (4)Memento Mori (6)Memento Mori (7)Memento Mori (8)Memento Mori (9)Memento Mori (10)Memento Mori (11)Memento Mori (12)Memento Mori (13)Memento Mori (14)Memento Mori (15)Memento Mori (16)Memento Mori (17)

What do you think?

Chloe out.

Leave a Reply

