Introductions to the Past: Untitled (Out of Nature)

Untitled (Out of Nature) was put in motion on the first day of art class in my final year of school. Our task: create an installation. I had never made an installation in my life, i had barely done anything in three dimensions. But that didn’t stop me from being excited.

My inspiration for this project was drawn from a photograph i had taken on my summer holiday that year, a simple photo of a quirky way a shop owner in Corfu had decided to make his sign stand out:

Corfu 931 smaller

 

Our topic for this year was “Openings” and from there is where i took all my flowers, flowers are a perfect representation of openings. But for this installation i kind of wanted to turn that on it’s head. Instead of having my flowers living in the bagged water like on the sign, i wanted to truly remove them from their natural setting and preserve them. Remove their life, remove their openings.

I sealed the flowers up by firstly dipping them into molten wax and coating them over and over and then i strung them up fully inside the plastic water filled bags. I brought the idea of preservation out further by attaching labels with the flowers scientific names written on them.

That was when this piece was given it’s title.

??????????????????????

??????????????????????

??????????????????????

??????????????????????

??????????????????????

??????????????????????

 

After having my plastic bags hanging above me for a few weeks, i came across this piece by Christine Borland “Spirit Collection: Hippocrates”

And i wanted to alter my piece.

I kept the waxed flowers but took them out of their bags and placed them in hanging jars instead.

DSC_0137edited

DSC_0140

DSC_0141

DSC_0142

 

It was an interesting experimentation but i still think i prefer the bags.

 

I’d like to bring this project into the light and do something with it in the future. It was a great first installation, it was what led me to really get into the world of installations and it helped me realize how much i loved making things with my hands. One day, i’ll do more with it, for now i just thought i’d dust it off and share it with you.

What do you think of the work?

Chloe out.

Leave a Reply

