Ondine: Art Jewellery Piece

In my Ondine Introduction I mentioned that: alongside the collection I would be creating an art jewellery piece.

What is art jewellery? you might be asking…

Art jewelry is one of the names given to jewelry created by studio craftspeople. As the name suggests, art jewelry emphasizes creative expression and design, and is characterized by the use of a variety of materials, often commonplace or of low economic value.” (source) How I look at it, is an art jewellery piece is more like a work of art. It is to be admired for the design and beauty, and it is technically wearable… but not something you would wear in everyday life.

Bubblemaid small

So, for Ondine: I am making a full-size jeweller’s interpretation of a mermaid’s tail.

Yes.

Epic.

I want to keep the final design a secret, I want a grand reveal when it’s all done! but I also want to share my process with you, so I will post about how I’m getting on and of course those posts will be filled with lots of images!!!

Like these ones

Copper Beaded (1) Copper Beaded (5) Copper Beaded (4) Copper Beaded (3) Copper Beaded (2)

My first wire cage style samples, still not quite sure about them, but I’m working on it!Copper Claw (4) Copper Claw (5)And I’m currently in the process of teaching myself to knit… I’m exploring lots of possible avenues of what this tail will be and knitting might be the way to go…

If I can actually learn how to knit more than a square!!!

Will post another blog tomorrow about my adventures in knitting!

Stay tuned…

Chloe out.

Leave a Reply

