The Little (Dead) Mermaid introduction and 3D design drawings

Most (i’m hoping all of you!) will know the tale of The Little Mermaid, most likely from the animated Disney film, but hopefully some of you will also know the original Hans Christian Andersen tale as well (if not, read it here)….. it’s basically the same, but much darker and the ending is not so happy!

I’ve been rather obsessed with doodling bubbles for a while now…..

Bubble Painting (3)small Bubblessmall IMG_1108

Hence my logo (my favourite pattern to etch is the bubbles, so what else was my logo going to be!! plus it looks like beading too)!

…… and as The Little Mermaid is filled with bubbles i couldn’t think of a better story connection to my doodly mind. In paticular, this quote:

So I shall die,” said the little mermaid, “and as the foam of the sea I shall be driven about never again to hear the music of the waves, or to see the pretty flowers nor the red sun.

And that’s exactly what happens at the end… so you can see why i’ve re-titled it The Little (Dead) Mermaid!

I want the pieces i make to look like i’ve nipped down to the beach and literally scooped up a handful of dead mermaid…. morbid but pretty i’m thinking!!

This is also my chance to use a little bit of new technology! I want to combine my ideas for this with CAD drawings and 3D printing. Here are my design drawings that i’ve sent away to shapeways to get 3D printed into steel (why steel? well because it was rust when wet of course! running with the decaying dying mythical sea creature theme here!)…..

ScreenHunter_01 May. 08 15.49 ScreenHunter_02 May. 08 15.50 ScreenHunter_03 May. 08 15.50 ScreenHunter_04 May. 08 15.51

 

What do you think?

Chloe out.

Leave a Reply

