The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Making Of

Last time I showed you some hunger bird sketches, and from those I came up with my final idea…. so, here is the making of!

DSCF9168

 

To texture my little copper hunger birds, I had a wander around Dundee and picked up some fallen feathers.

DSCF9171DSCF9173 DSCF9172

 

Which I stuck to both sides of a copper sheet with double sided strips.

DSCF9174 DSCF9175

The copper was run through the rolling mill a few times to imprint the feather texture into the copper.

DSCF9176 DSCF9179

The feathers got quite stuck to the metal, so, I used a torch to burn away the tape and feather excess.

DSCF9180

And then cleaned away the fire stain in the pickle.

DSCF9183 DSCF9185

After selecting my hunger bird shapes, I used little paper templates to transfer them onto the copper.

DSCF8744DSCF9186

DSCF9187 DSCF9197

 

And cut them out! and filed down the edges until smooth.

DSCF9194 DSCF9195

Next came the soldering…. this took ages! I had to solder each bird onto a huge length of wire, and each time clean it in the pickle…. it was hard work! and a little dangerous! Working with such a long length of wire, especially one that’s getting hotter and hotter as I moved further along was a little hazourdous… but I stretched myself across 3 benches and worked out a system of bowls of water and safety gloves so I wouldn’t burn myself… or anyone else! or set fire to anything!!

DSCF9218

It was worth it in the end, as they turned out just I wanted!

The copper was put into an oxidising bath to blacken into hellish birds.

DSCF9222

And then cleaned a little.

IMG_5266 IMG_5269

And finally the finishing touches were added! Dyed black, thick, gloopy latex with coils of wire strung with onyx and smokey quartz beads. The wire acts as a flight pattern, the beads give a glint of sparkling eyes and sharp talons and the black latex just enhances the leathery black skin of these unbird birds.

 

Stay tuned for the next post where I show you the finished piece!

 

Chloe out.

Leave a Reply

