The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Unbird Sketches

A wee while ago I introduced you to The Ocean at the End of the Lane, and since then I’ve been slowly working about at design and inspiration drawings in my sketchbook. I’ve been using simple black ink with a paintbrush to make marks and shapes of what I think the hunger birds could look like in a wearable form. I’m not quite sure what I want the piece to be yet, other than very black, and something that will wrap around or encase the body in some constricting form…..

… anyway, here are some of my sketchbook drawings.

Sketchbook (1) (640x443) Sketchbook (3) (455x640) Sketchbook (4) (384x640) Sketchbook (5) (458x640) Sketchbook (6) (457x640) Sketchbook (7) (459x640) Sketchbook (8) (451x640) Sketchbook (9) (453x640) Sketchbook (15)

I’ve also started a little hunger birds painting… mostly for fun (i’ll get some better photos of it when i’m finished)!!

Painting (2) Painting (3)

These last few images are of the shapes I’m beginning to work with in copper samples. They are individual hunger bird shapes. I made them by dipping my brush in a little ink and a little water and then closed my eyes and moved my hand in a small jerking motion across the pages.

Sketchbook (10) (640x450) Sketchbook (11) (640x435) Sketchbook (12) (640x449)

I then pick out the best ones with tracing paper and transfer them into the copper for some samples.

Sketchbook (13) (640x446)

 

*edit* my samples are going quite well and I think I’m close to a conclusion… so will update you next time with the making of my final piece! Stay tuned!

Chloe out.

Leave a Reply

