A little update.

I’ve not blogged all the much, or even tweeted or instagramed much of my progress with Lexicon for the past wee while.

I’ve had a funny few weeks were, although i’m really excited about what i’m doing, i’ve lacked overall motivation and fallen into a little streak of apathy….. well, i’ve pulled myself together in the past few days, worked out a plan of action and locked all my alarms for 8am sharp! Work work work is the key, and if i can just keep up with my mind full of ideas my degree show might just be as awesome as i picture it in my brain… *fingers crossed*

 

So, ramble over. A little progress update:

 

Working (32)

Mossycoat was put a little bit on the back burner, as i was unhappy with the piece i had made; it just didn’t have the awesome-factor i was hoping for. But after a wee soul-searching walk out into my local mossy wooded area, and a good few nights with pints of tea and frantic Pinteresting i have come up with a better idea. I’ve started drawing again and i’ve put in some orders for materials…. and i’m going to be annoyingly coy and not tell you the plans! All will be revealed soon (check out my Mossycoat Pinterest board for a little more clarity on what i might be talking about)! When my materials arrive i’ll start practicing and post a post of samples and thoughts. Stay tuned…

 

IMG_5081IMG_5082 (2)IMG_5074

Faery Wings has been progressing slowly but surely. The photos above are instagram teasers of the final pieces i’m working on. If i work really hard this week, and get lucky (ie. nothing goes wrong!) i should have the pieces finished for the weekend. I have enough samples now that i know exactly what i’m doing. I’ve got three pieces (three = one for each line of the haiku) on the go, a head piece, an ear cuff and a bracelet/arm piece. Each one is a magical fantasy, using my drawings and beautiful translucent airy materials i should be able to capture the essence of the Faery Wings haiku. It would be great if the pieces were ready for the weekend because i could do the photoshoot for them when i’m home at the weekend (weather permitting of course)! I’m going to collect a load of images together this week and i’ll post a photoshoot moodboard here. I might keep the finished pieces a secret until after the shoot!! Oh, and i’ve been working away at the book too. I’ll post a post about that sometime in the week too. Stay tuned…

 

DSCF8579small

The Ocean at the End of the Lane has been filling my mind with wondrous ideas. A posted a wee introduction to this story a while ago, but i’ll post you some of my doodles and drawings sometime this week. I’m still in the drawing stages (see above) at the moment, but when Faery Wings is complete i’ll start experimenting away with the Hunger Birds… i have plans! Stay tuned…

 

BubblessmallBubble Painting (3)small

The Little Mermaid is also still in the drawing stages. This mini-collection is going to feature wonderful new technology. CAD drawing and 3D printing! Oh my! I’m still playing around with Rhino and figuring out how things work… as well as thinking how the printed/cast pieces are going to work with my etchings and beadings. I’ll introduce you to this story and my thoughts surrounding it sometime this week and i’ll also post about my developments and researchings into CAD and 3D printing and laser sintering and casting and all those brilliant things that make me go oooo! Stay tuned…

 

 

Coin-Operated Boy ideas are just filling up all the spaces in my head! I’ll introduce ya’ll to this song and the reasons why i choose it and why it’s my favourite Amanda Palmer song. For me, this will be the most important piece i make… the song means so much to me so it’s vital that i get the representation right. I made a prototype for the idea i have the other day. It’s awesome. I’m so excited about this piece. I’m getting excited already but writing the post…. oooo….. stay tuned…

 

So, that was a ramble about what i’m up to with my five stories. Many a blog post coming soon… much work to do! Excited. Nervous. Love it.

And i’ll be re-iterating all of that tomorrow to my tutor and then again on Tuesday to my other tutor. I’ve not spoken to them in a while, so it’ll be nice to see if i’m heading in the right direction… or not……. what do you think about all i’m planning?!

See you soon!

Chloe out.

One thought on “A little update.

Leave a Reply

