NESTA Part 4 – In It For The Long Haul

In the previous parts i defined what my business was and how it was going to take shape now i’m working on how to get my business out to my customers.

First i’ll be looking into marketing.

The best way to illustrate this is to watch this wonderful TED talk from Simon Sinek:

 

“People don’t buy what you do they buy why you do it.”

 

So to start myself off with this i’ve re-highlighted what my top values are:

Independence.

Imagination.

Creativity.

Passion.

Good, high-quality art and design.

 

“Marketing is the management process responsible for identifying, anticipating and satisfying customer requirements profitably.”

The 7Ps of Marketing – The keys of how to make it work.

1 Product
2 Place
3 Price
4 Promotion
5 People
6 Process
7 Physical Environment

Makes it all sounds rather dry and boring… but nevertheless important to consider. I could go into all of this a whole lot more…. but i wouldn’t be adding much new into the pot, if you’re interested just google marketing and swim through the masses of information. In time i’ll be able to tell what works well for me and what doesn’t, but at the moment i’m just testing the waters!

I generally think marketing comes into business on an individual basis, ie. for each of my collections it will be different. Obviously there be an overlap of the main channels of marketing that i use for marketing, eg. social media, press releases, etc.

 

“People don’t buy what you do they buy why you do it.” i’ll just remember to keep this in mind and i should be fine!

And will also need to remember that without customers i just have an expensive hobby!

 

Now off to write my business plan proposal…. eeek! Wish me luck!

Chloe out.

Leave a Reply

