The amazing wonderful Diane running with the Olympic Flame!

Today the Olympic Flame was run through my little town of Dalkeith.

Myself, the Esk Valley Rotary crowd (and a hell of a lot of other people) turned out to cheer on Diane Cunningham as she ran madly through the streets holding the flame high in the glorious sunny sky.

I thought I would share Diane’s nomination story with you, before the pretty pictures, because it is truly beautiful.

“I am now aged 58 and I have done voluntary work for 35 years and I absolutely love it. I have been a Samaritan, delivered meals on wheels, been on the community council and my current voluntary job is with a local young persons sexual and mental health clinic which I have been involved with for the past 12 years and now the Chairperson. i am also a rotarian and we do inumerable good pieces of work for our local and indeed international communities who need all the help they can get. I now have a recurrance of Breast Cancer which I had 16 years ago which unfortunately has come back into my spine. I am very well at the moment and would like to do this for my family (who are distraught) to show them that its not all doom and gloom and give them something extra special to remember me by and what is more special than the Olympics and the flame that never dies, diane xx”

I don’t know Diane very well, but from the few times I have met her, I can see why she was chosen to the carry the flame. Diane is one of those few beautifully, lovely happy people, the sort of person you can just not be miserable around.

Check the crowd!

Rotary!

Here come the runners.

Not quite sure what this is, but I love it!

Nice to see that everything is sponsored by coke.

Samsung party bus!

And then everbody booooo’d.

And then cheered!

And then cheered even more!!!!! GO DIANE!

 

 

 

Chloe out.

 

2 thoughts on “The amazing wonderful Diane running with the Olympic Flame!

  1. chloe, thank you so much for including me in your blog. I loved it. This is the first chance Ive had to sit and look at Facebook and its totally overwhelming. I cant beleive the trouble all these people have gone to posting and tagging pictures and im so glad they have. Theres a lot of friends and family who couldnt be there but im sure after seeing all this they will feel they have!!! Ihad an absolute ball and partied at my house till 11pm. Its a day I will truly never forget nad certainly acheived its purpose as im sure my kids wont either, thanks again, diane xxx

Leave a Reply

