A twitterview with Tom Dickins

A twitterview with Tom Dickins

 

 

@ChloeHenderson9: @tomdickins as a writer of glorious lyrics and maker of beautiful music, can I #twitterview you about literature and language?

@tomdickins: absolutely! I’ll be offline for the next halfa – then go for it!

@ChloeHenderson9: great! Give me a tweet when you’re ready my love.

….30 minutes pass….

@tomdickins: I can do it now? Do you want me to do a shout out about it? xx

@ChloeHenderson9: awesome. Yeah sure, that would be great.

@tomdickins: about to do a #twitterview with @ChloeHenderson9 ! Keep an eye on my feed!!! Xx

@ChloeHenderson9: p.s. if ya’ll miss it/can’t keep up, I will be archiving it on my blog later on :)

an easy little self-indulgence to start with: what is your favourite word(s) and why?

@tomdickins: loquatiousness – it sounds the same way as it means. Just say it out loud… its beautiful…. and trivial ;-)

@ChloeHenderson9: ooo I love words with sss sounds. Good choice!

@tomdickins: why thank you!

also love – I have to run an errand in 20 – so any I miss I will answer as soon as I’m home! x

@ChloeHenderson9: don’t worry about it, i’ll try and keep it short and sweet :)

how would you describe the importance of reading and writing in our everyday lives?

@tomdickins: I wish I read more, but I couldn’t really exist without writing on a daily basis. It’s as essential as morning coffee…

@ChloeHenderson9: as a creator, where do you think the value of storytelling is in our modern world?

@tomdickins: storytelling is our quintessential way of learning and healing. Whether written, sung or danced – stories are our medicine.

@ChloeHenderson9: aww, that was like a little story in itself.

what do you think the effects of the internet (twitter,blogging,etc.) are on our literature and our literacy?

@tomdickins: I think it’s exciting for our literature and abominable for our literacy…. (Cont’d in next tweet)

EG: Our ability to research, share and publish independently is phenomenal. Our speeeling and: grammar? sucks now.

@ChloeHenderson9: do your mourn the loss of the handwritten letter? or do you like instant digital responses? or do you still write letters?

@tomdickins: I always wrote letters but never got around to posting them… which make them more like diaries in the rediscovery.

case in point:

@ChloeHenderson9: haha love it!

p.s. your sunglasses are making me jealous as I sit here in the dismal Scottish rain :(

@Rosie_Cotton: I do the same – the rediscovery of Boston/New York letters & poems today. Made me happy-sad. love.

@ChloeHenderson9: last one: if there was one book/poem/song/tweet/etc. that you think the whole world should read, what would it be?

@tomdickins: Book: A Heart Breaking Work Of Staggering Genius – Dave Eggers, Poem: Everything Auden ever wrote, (cont’d)

Song: Ladder Song, Bright eyes and Tweet: everyone should follow @DeadEndFiction . Xx

Gotta run! Much love! xx

@ChloeHenderson9: thank you very much wonderful @tomdickins for this kick-ass little #twitterview :)

 

 

Thanks Tom for this beautiful little twitterview, as one of the best musicians and songwriters that I know of I really appreciate your insights.

Still don’t know who Tom Dickins is? Your missing out! Check him out on his website!

Thanks again Tom :)

 

 

Chloe out.

Leave a Reply

