A twitterview with Sheila Roussel

A twitterview with Sheila Roussel

@ChloeHenderson9: Hiya @SJRoussel are you ready for our little twitterview?

@SJRoussel: ok I am

@ChloeHenderson9: great! An easy little self-indulgence to start with: what is your favourite word(s) and why?

@SJRoussel: something I’ve never really considered before but I like nostalgia and the feelings it evokes also ephemera.

@ChloeHenderson9: with nostalgia in mind, where do you think the value of storytelling sits in our modern world?

@SJRoussel: very important to keep history alive, especially for children to learn through storytelling.

@ChloeHenderson9: a lot of people focus on children when I mention storytelling, how important do you think storytelling is for us big kids?

@SJRoussel: I think it’s important, I enjoy the “stories” from the designer makers we have in our lectures, their own experiences etc.

@ChloeHenderson9: how would you describe the importance or reading and writing in our everyday lives?

@SJRoussel: It’s part of our being. I can’t imagine life without it

@ChloeHenderson9: what do you think the effects of the internet (twitter, blogging, etc.) are on our literacy and our literature?

@SJRoussel: I think literacy has become much more informal, less importance on actual hand writing, spelling and grammar.

@ChloeHenderson9: would you say that is a good or a bad thing (and why)?

@SJRoussel: Not so good, not sure that different generations understand each other well.

@ChloeHenderson9: would you say that if the computer/internet didn’t exist different generations would have a better understanding of each other?

@SJRoussel: I really don’t know! I think it depends on each individual and what they are interested in.

@ChloeHenderson9: my apologies! Those questions were rather specific! But you raised some interesting points.

do you mourn the loss of the handwritten letter? or do you like instant digital responses? or do you still write letters?

@SJRoussel: I do miss hand written letters and I have a couple of friends who write to me now and then. Text etc is so convenient!

@ChloeHenderson9: last one: if there was one book/poem/song/tweet/etc. that you think the whole world should read, what would it be?

@SJRoussel: Apart from my son’s latest poem on love, I think I would recommend The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

@ChloeHenderson9: your son wrote a poem about love? That is so cute!

@SJRoussel: In his English class, it apears that he’s not all teenage nastiness!

@ChloeHenderson9: You should blog it, so the whole world can read it :)

@SJRoussel: Mmm not sure about letting the whole world see it maybe just a few followers.

@ChloeHenderson9: thank you very much for this little twitterview. It was fantastic!

@SJRoussel: No problem, my pleasure.

 

Thank you wonderful Sheila for this twitterview. As a fantastic fellow jeweller I really appreciate all your insights. If you have no idea who Sheila Roussel is, head over to her blog and find out more! Or follow her on twitter at @SJRoussel

Thank you again Sheila :)

 

Chloe out.

Leave a Reply

