Assignment 4 – Interviews but not as we know them… Part 1

For this assignment we have been asked to go out int0 the world and interview people (we don’t know very well) about a specific topic.

My immediate response was to run and hide under my bed.

This idea scares me.

I’ve never considered myself to be a good speaker.

When I try to verbalize my thoughts they never come out how I would like them to.

This was the train of thought that actually led me to my topic of conversation. Within my border crossings jewellery project this year, we have been looking at identity and culture and within that spectrum I have focused on the identity and the culture of all things wordy (language, communication, literature, etc. etc. etc.).

So, these interviews weren’t just going to help me build up my tools for investigative techniques but they would also help me further my design project and help me gather information on a topic I’m really passionate about.

I used my twitterviews as a guide. For them I have 6 basic questions that I use:

1. An easy little self-indulgence to start with: what is your favourite word(s) and why?

2. How would you describe the importance of reading and writing in our everyday lives?

3. What do you think the effects of the internet (twitter, blogging, etc.) are on our literacy and out literature?

4. Where do you think the value of storytelling sits in our world today?

5. Do you mourn the loss of the handwritten letter? Or do you like instant digital responses? Or do you still write letters?

6. One last little self-indulgence, if there was one book/poem/song/tweet/etc. that you think everybody in the world should read what would it be?

(p.s. if anybody wants to be twitterviewed by me please tweet me at @ChloeHenderson9 – I would really love to hear from ya)

I’m planning on using these questions as a guide for my interviews but I want the conversations to be more general, flowing and organic. I will try and cover all of these points but I want it to be conversation and not a rigid question answer question answer scenario. I also want to use some fun ways of engaging people to get my interviewees to open up………. hmm….

My conversations are going to be conducted with various members of my parents rotary. I have chosen to use the Esk Valley Rotary running dinner as a good place to execute my interviews because I don’t really know any of the members (other than polite hellos). Also, they are all similar ages and live in the same geographical area which gives me a good basis to compare each interview on. Also, being part of the rotary would also lead me to believe that they are a group of like-minded people.

If I had the time I would perhaps go and interview other groups of people to compare age groups, social groups, geographical groups, etc. but for now  have gone for a group who lie somewhere in the middle.

Now, I’m excited about the interviews!

Bring ’em on!

Chloe out.

 

Read how my interviews turned out at Assignment 4 – Interviews but not as we know them… Part 2

Leave a Reply

