A twitterview with Sophie Walker

A twitterview with Sophie Walker

@ChloeHenderson9: @SophieALW as my gorgeous baby sophz, can I twitterview you about literature and language in our world today?

@SophieALW: I would be honoured!

@ChloeHenderson9: fantastic! Do you have time to talk now or should I come back later?

@SophieALW: Yes now is good, just watching rubbish TV haha :)

@ChloeHenderson9: awesome! An easy little self-indulgence to start with: what is your favourite word(s) and why?

@SophieALW: Sophisticated. Not entirely sure why… I like the way it sounds and always thought it was cool is started with my name!

@ChloeHenderson9: Sophisticated Sophie! I love it!

How would you describe the importance of reading and writing in our everyday lives?

@SophieALW: Hmm. I think reading is super important and I love it. Not so fussed about writing, I prefer speaking…!

@ChloeHenderson9: hahaha we all know you love to talk! What about writing in the everyday sense? as apposed to writing novels?

@SophieALW: well I quite fancy getting involved in the student newspaper and I tend to do well in my essays.. I just find it laborious!

@ChloeHenderson9: what do you think the effects of the internet (twitter, blogging, etc.) are on our literacy and our literature?

@SophieALW: I think they are great because they encourage the sharing of ideas and it is easier for people to get involved with tbc

writing and discover books/ideas etc

@ChloeHenderson9: where do you think the value of storytelling sits in our world today?

@SophieALW: This is hard! I thought you did art shizz all day?! Ermmm if you mean like telling old stories to children etc then it is

important to continue with traditions and share culture, and it is also important to read books to children, to get them

interested in reading.

@ChloeHenderson9: MY DEGREE IS NOT JUST ART SHIZ AND COLOURING IN i’ll have you know we’re changing the world!

@SophieALW: I didn’t mean it wasn’t important! I luff your work! (send me some cute pics for my wall?!) this is just very englishy.

@ChloeHenderson9: I’m focusing on the value of all things wordy for my current project.

@SophieALW: oooh okay. Combining your talents! I see.

@ChloeHenderson9: I didn’t really think about it like that but yeah!

it’s interesting that you focused on children? My questions are open (to allow for your beautiful answers), why focus on kids?

@SophieALW: I guess I don’t really think about telling stories to adults? Although I guess I tell stories everyday to my friends and

parents about what has happened that day. I guess I was thinking of books more than just speaking?

@ChloeHenderson9: I guess I meant storytelling in the broad sense, but yeah creative/imaginative stories tend to be told to children and when we

say storytelling children come to mind. With adults it’s more real life stories that we share.

Do you mourn the loss of the handwritten letter? or do you prefer instant digital responses? or do you still write letters?

@SophieALW: I suppose I was brought up on the internet and mobile phones, so I never really received or wrote letters. The only time I

write letters is to reply to my granny (mainly to avoid talking on the phone!) or thank you letters to older relatives or

for formal things (internships/if I was applying for a job/if I wanted to make a complaint). I do like the instantness of

digital ways, and it is easier to keep track of what you have said!

@ChloeHenderson9: love letters or love emails?

@SophieALW: as in do I love letters, or love emails? Or a ‘love letter’??

@ChloeHenderson9: sorry I should have been clearer. Would you prefer to write/recieve a love letter or a love email?

@SophieALW: neither! I wouldn’t want to write or receive either tbh. But… if you were holding a gun to my head… Letter.

@ChloeHenderson9: I will have to write you a love letter then……….. and I expect one back!!!

Would you like me to write you a letter?

@SophieALW: Emailed you! With a cheeky wee threat/offer too :P

one last little self-idulgence, if there was one book/poem/tweet/song/etc. that you think everybody should read what would it be?

@SophieALW: THE GREAT GATSBY! The Bell Jar. And ‘If There is Something’ by Roxy Music… It’s so beautiful! Go listen :)

@ChloeHenderson9: I totally will. Love the Bell Jar. Never read the Great Gatsby…. it’s on the list!

@SophieALW: The Bell Jar is sooooooo good! Need to read again. I cried at the Great Gatsby haha

@ChloeHenderson9: thank you very much, my darling, for letting me twitterview you. It has been wonderful and beautifully sophisticated ;)

@SophieALW: thanks for having me! Hahahaha! Love you!

@ChloeHenderson9: Love you too!

 

Sophie Walker is one of my secret lovers and my friendly home economics goddess and I am honored to gain a little insight into her opinions so thank you my lovely woman for letting me twitterview you :) Follow her on twitter at @SophieALW

 

Chloe out.

Leave a Reply

