Nikki McWilliams and her beautiful biscuit cushions…om nom nom!

Today we had a wonderful lecture from, artist and designer, Nikki McWilliams.

I found it really interesting that Nikki started off as a fine art student and progressed through to start up her own design business.

I’ve always been a bit on edge about my choice. I always assumed I just wanted to be an artist (opposite of Nikki who was more at home in design), but I picked a jewellery design course: which is kind of the best of both and arts and a design course. But I still find myself contemplating whether or not I made the right decision. I still don’t know. But the one thing I will take away from Nikki’s lecture is that I doesn’t really matter what degree you end up doing, as long as you find a passion doing something you like; whether it is art, design or somewhere in between. I think I lie in the fog in between not really sure what I want…. I JUST WANNA MAKE ART!!! but also want to design jewellery…. I’ll  figure it out!

 

Another set of useful things I’ll take from this talk is some tips on social networking and promoting myself as the company Chloe Henderson rather than the confused Chloe Henderson!

“Online networking should not replace real life networking.”

I think with all the online tools available, I sometimes forget about that point. I will need to try and get myself out there more (not just from the safety of my bedroom in front of my laptop!).

Nikki’s Golden Rules of Tweeting

1. Keep it positive.

2. Rule of thirds: 1. self-promotion/business promotion. 2. things that you find interesting and want to share. 3. all the personal stuff, but not too personal or inane chatter (nobody cares what you had for breakfast).

3. Don’t drink and tweet!

4. Show your personality and have fun: twitter is a marketing tool but it is in an informal setting; be smart but nobody likes really serious tweets.

Pre-prepare yourself a press-kit. I don’t think I quite at this stage yet, I don’t really have a product(s) that define me as a company/brand but you never know! Always be prepared!

Take all the opportunities life hands out to you, but beware! If it seems to good to be true, check it out before diving in (beware of advertorials!).

 

Check out her gorgeous pillows:

And isn’t this tunnocks teacake cat just adorable? ><

I loved this print so much that I just bought one! Hopefully it will chill me out during stressful assessment times!

If you just must have one of these lovely cushions, visit Nikki McWilliams Shop

 

Thanks for all the great advice Nikki.

 

Chloe out.

One thought on “Nikki McWilliams and her beautiful biscuit cushions…om nom nom!

  1. Hiya Chloe,

    Thank you so much for the excellent blog post- I’m really glad my talk was useful. Art school was really difficult for me as I always felt like I’d chosen the wrong path- but looking back on it I wouldn’t change anything at all. I think it’s really important to relax in whatever subject you choose and have fun with it- that’s when you make all your best work!

    Best of luck for the rest of second year- will look forward to visiting your degree show in 2014 (which will be here before you know it!)
    Nxx

Leave a Reply

