Project 1 is over already!

We’ve just finished project one!

Can’t believe it’s project two already!

That two weeks just flew by!

As a finish to project 1 we were to create a mood board and present our work to a group of our fellow design students from different disciplines and hear their comments on our work.

Here is my mood board:

close-ups:

 

As with all verbal presentations I was nervous and arggghhhh! but I think I managed to get out what my project was about.

I didn’t really know where to start out when we were given this project brief. Our advice was to “pick something and draw it” I just happened to be working on my submission for the Secret 7″ Vinyl competition (blog about it here), which was to design a representation of The Cure’s “Friday I’m In Love” as a vinyl album cover. It made me realize how much I love interpreting the written word (or in this case the sung word) into images. I’ve been taking inspiration from music, stories, poems and all of those wordy things all my life and transforming them into images and I love it. I knew this is what I wanted to devote a project too, especially as the subject matter was so free for us to choose from. I also wanted to look at incorporating actual bits of text and words into the pieces. I started out finding a few songs, poems or stories that I wanted to work with and I started drawing from there. I also had a little look into illustration as that is visual story-telling, and I think I want to incorporate some illustration into my work. I’ve also included a little snippet about my Thought For The Day blog as the ideas from that are prominent in this work. I want to encourage thinking! And my thoughts are part of me, and part of my body so it relates back to my project and back to jewellery.

I got some good feedback, and am feeling quite reassured this project is going well for me.

If you have any thoughts on my work please drop me a comment and let me know. I would appreciate your insights :) Thank you.

Chloe out.

Leave a Reply

