Jewellery trip to Edinburgh.

Today we stepped out from our little studios into Edinburgh for an exhibition at the Dovecot Gallery, The Talbot Rice Gallery and then a talk on rocks from a mineralogist (I forget his name, but I’m sure Teena remembers…) at the National Museum of Scotland.

We went to The Dovecot Gallery first. I never even knew that placed existed, even though I pass by that street fairly frequently when I’m home! It’s one that I will be adding to my radar for the future. The exhibition us jewellers were most interested in was called “Craft in Dialogue” and featured various jewellers/artists beautiful work. Here are some of my photographs from the gallery:

     

Dorothy Hogg – I really liked these pieces. The clean silver mixed with the bloody reds was stunning. They are all from her “Artery”series and the connections with blood are quite clear. The acrylic pieces look like blood in between microscope slides. And the silver brooch pieces are formed around the structures of the arteries themselves, with only little droplets or hints of blood poking out of them. I also love the way the neck pieces are displayed – on the cardboard cut-outs of busts. I think it’s a really clever and unique way of displaying jewellery effectively, it gives the pieces a human aspect.

   

Charonne Ruth – these pieces of glass were so beautiful. As ever I just really wanted to touch them, I might have, just a little, when no one was looking! Ahhh, they were amazing!

Lindean Mill Glass

     

Peter Chang – wow his jewellery is beautiful! It’s so bright and colourful and wow! I love the creature quality to them, they seem to grow right in front of you. I especially love the brooch pieces, I think the are just wonderful, the colours and form and the shinyness. They have the most creature like quality to them, like claws and teeth with scaley bits and webbed feet and tentacles. His drawings were lovely as well, they seemed so similar to the pieces and simple yet really expressive of what he was trying to achieve. I could see myself wearing one of those brooches (I’d just be worried about it crawling away!).

 

Geoff Roberts

John Creed – “Earth Matters” these are hat/coat stands. We were discussing that they would seem in place at some fancy hotel/restaurant. They appear to be such beautiful pieces of metal sculpture that you wouldn’t think they actually had a use, it would seem almost a shame to hang a coat on this piece, it would hide the artwork! I guess that is why it is in a gallery and not a hotel lobby!

     

Susan Cross – wire! Her pieces are do detailed and meticulous. I love the simple colours and the textures within the metals, the forms she seems to weave with the thin wires. At a first glance some of the wire pieces look almost like a messy little bundle of crumpled wool/rubbish but on closer inspection they are intricate patterns of loops and crosses and weaves. I think the first photo is my favorite piece, the iridescent white strands appear like swan feathers or strips of feathers from angel wings, very pure and white and arranged in a halo. I don’t see that piece being worn, it would take away from it’s beauty, but floating under the lights it was magic.

 

Joanne Thompson

 

Jane Kelly – The dark days/aurum (rhododendron macabeanum leaves and gold leaf) – I loved the composition of these leaves, floating randomly in a dispersed cluster. In any other setting they would seem like tacky Christmas ornaments or something similar, but hanging there against a blank wall they were beautiful. The gold leaf upon the leaf is quite effective when looking closely, I can see this being applied on a smaller jewellery scale.

  

Alison Kinnaird – Unknown

 

Jack Cunningham – these brooches are beautifully quirky. Each little piece seems to tell some weird and wonderful story. I love narrative jewellery and artwork in general, I love the guessing, the fantasy.

Gillian Forbes – With These Hands

   

Craig Mitchell – I love his drawings, more than the actual pieces I think, they are so beautiful and so simple. The sculptures are interesting, I’m not sure if I like them or not… I do like the tree parts but I’m not sure about the men. They are a bit Tim Burtony, who I like, but there is just something that I don’t quite like about them… hmm…

  

Grainne Morton – I really like the idea of displaying jewellery around taxidermy animals. Especially with this piece, which is antique/vintage looking which for seem reason with the mix of the crow and the mount gives it such a beautiful old country house feel.

 

Deirdre Morton – I really love these pieces. They are so eloquently beautiful. The gold leaf on the otherwise natural looking stems really enhances the precious quality to the plants, and the little hints of colour act like gemstones.

  

Jacki Perry – it’s amazing to think something as beautiful as this is made from just paper.

 

The other room contained textiles pieces. I wasn’t that interested in them, some were quite pretty, but I didn’t find any of them that impressive.

   

We then headed up the stairs to view the weaving room from the platform (it used to be a swimming pool!). It was really interesting watching the people weaving these massive rugs on the looms. Also, the crotchet rainbow spiral up the stairs was so so pretty! I touched it!!! :D

          

We then headed to the Talbot Rice Gallery to see “Beholder”

Unfortunately I wasn’t really paying attention to it, I don’t know what was quite wrong with me at that point but I didn’t write anything down or focus at all. But I realize now that it’s an exhibition that I’m interested in. I’m passing it tomorrow when I’m out, so I think I might go back and investigate further: updating soon…

Chloe out.

Leave a Reply

