The best present I ever received.

The best present I ever received was on my 18th birthday (this year) from my dad.

He made this cabinet (photos courtesy of Craig Henderson and Mummy Henderson).

The story/inspiration around this present is firstly a gift that will last my whole life, secondly my dad’s passion for creating unique furniture/interiors, and lastly my love for New York (and booze apparently!). The shape is based on the colossal skyscrapers in New York when viewed from above; the giant tops tapering into nothing, and check the magic floatyness! The bottles inside are all from my birth year (1993) and are to be enjoyed at each milestone: lovely champagne was enjoyed on my 18th and a variety of wine, rum and whiskey will be lapped up on my 21st, 25th, 30th, 40th, 50th, 60th, 70th, 75th, 80th, 90th and 100th (no pressure to live that long!). My dad actually spent longer collecting all of the alcohol than making the cabinet! But luckily he enjoyed himself and is now something of a booze connoisseur!! I don’t often receive handmade gifts and when I do they rank higher than any other gift (not that i’m degrading any other gifts bought for me!), purely because of all the effort that has gone into the construction of the gift, and it is also made with the receiver in mind and is therefore incredibly personal. This gift will also last me my whole life, not just as something I permanently have but as something to look forward to and enjoy. And I know from my mum’s moaning that she couldn’t get into her wardrobe (his temporary workshop) for weeks he put a great deal of time and effort into it and I’m so grateful. Oh, and on that note the birthday cupcakes were very very very yummy, so thank you Mummy cupcake for those homemade   gifts from baked heaven :P om nom nom nom!

 

Chloe out.

3 thoughts on “The best present I ever received.

Leave a Reply

